Fund Details
2023 Lilly Endowment Scholarship

Brief Description:

Thanks to the generosity of Lilly Endowment Inc., one four-year college tuition scholarship is offered this year to Franklin County residents through the Franklin County Community Foundation. 

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are:
1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana;
2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and
3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational,
nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.


The scholarship is an honor, as recipients are known as Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. Since the inception in 1998, 35 students have been named.
They include: Katherine Apsley, Jackie Betsch, Sara Bowling, Angel Bruns, David Buchta, Katie Burger, Regina Day, Justin Deutsch, Alex Dudley, Brandi Eastham, Brandon Euen, Kristina Giesting, Caleb Grubb, Mike Hoeing, Kayla Hsu, Kelsey James, Kylene Kaiser, Lauren Klei, August Kunkel, Andrea Meyer, Allen Meyers, Alicia Munchel, Mitchell Pepper, Kristina Pittman, Ashlie Raible, Susan Ritzi, Amber Ross, Michelle Sams, Molly Schwab, Elizabeth Simmermeyer, Heather Sottong, Kayla Stone, Curtis Ward, Brad Wendel, Michael Wessel, Erin Willhelm, Katie Wolber and Luke Wukusick.

The program provides: One scholarship for otherwise unreimbursed full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required
equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full time basis, leading to a baccalaureate degree at any Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university accredited
by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. A student’s eligibility for other scholarship assistance (such as participation in Indiana’s
Twenty-First Century Scholars Program) shall not be a basis for excluding the student from eligibility, nomination or selection for a scholarship under the
Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. When recipients receive additional scholarships, those additional scholarships will be reviewed in order to
ensure that each Lilly Scholar receives the full scholarship amount(s) that are due. The amount awarded under the LECSP may be adjusted to avoid having a scholar’s
total award package exceed the Cost of Attendance (according to the Higher Education Act, Sec. 472,
Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) will receive and invest grant funds, approve nomination criteria and procedures, make final scholarship selections, make the appropriate
scholarship payments to the selected colleges and universities, distribute administrative grants to community foundations and book and equipment allocations to scholars and provide administrative services for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program.

Lilly Endowment has established the following general criteria for its Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. The program is open to all Indiana residents who:
  • graduate from an accredited Indiana high school by 2022 and receive their diploma no later than June 30, 2022. A high school is considered accredited 
  • for purposes of the program if it is accredited by the State Board of Education or by a national or regional accreditation agency that is recognized by the State Board of Education;
  • intend to pursue a full-time baccalaureate course of study at an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools;
  • must be completely free to choose which Indiana College he/she would like to attend to pursue a baccalaureate degree.
In addition to the requirements set by Lilly Endowment, the Franklin County Community Foundation has established additional criteria for recipients:
  • must be a resident of Franklin County who is not applying for a Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship from any other community foundation;
  • must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 point scale;
  • must be willing to represent Franklin County and the Franklin County Community Foundation in a positive manner.